nintendo · uni

I don’t get it

How can one person create an amazing piece of writing one week and a piece of shit the next week? The transformation was amazing, like reading essays written from completely different people.
The essay’s due tomorrow so I friends and I did the ritural of sending each other our drafts. I was looking over my friend’s essay thinking that it was pretty shit so I made heaps of comments. Good grief, she kept saying “they” without saying who “they” were, wrote 2 instead of two, and wrote that the paper we were critiquing was ambiguous but then didn’t elaborate, making her ambiguous.
Later on, when I was looking over my essay notes to clean up my conclusion, I noticed a sentence that looked familiar (my notes consist of copying important info from many different papers so that I don’t have to look over them all several times to find what I want).

My friend had taken a sentence from another paper, word-for-word, and didn’t even reference it. And it’s a bit of a giveaway since a) It’s a different font to the rest of the paragraph (actually, her entire essay is riddled with two different fonts…dodgy?), b) she used the American spelling, like the paper did (though I guess it’s ok so long as the spelling is consistent in the essay) and c) that is the only place in here essay where she put the gene in italics (note, genes are always written in italics).
I had already told her that she needed to use italics and have a consistent font. So I sent her another email, telling her that she needed to make that sentence her own and she replied today saying that sometimes she gets lazy. No fucking kidding.

I told my other friend on MSN and she sent me the draft that the friend had sent her. She had changed the “they”s and the “2”s and added in all the italics. Apart from that, she pretty much ignored anything I wrote. She had written in red “Hel thinks blah blah, what do you think ?”. I think you need to do some more thinking, mate.
The only time she listened to me was when I included a basic example in my comments. I like to do that so that my friend knows what I mean when I say to fix up something and also provide a starting point for them that they need to expand upon. I don’t put them there so that they can copy and paste it into their essay.

It just seems like she does want us to help her improve, she just wants us to do the thinking for her. I seriously don’t get it. She even took two days off Uni to work on this essay, how is it that it is a hundred times worse than her last essay? It’s the quality of a first year, not a fucking Honours student. Even on my bad moments, I’m still able to produce a decent essay.
I didn’t send her my essay, I don’t want her pinching all my hard work. I didn’t even get a thank you.

I’ve been playing some Paper Mario this weekend. I got the last Crystal Star and am now on the final chapter. Man that place is hard, all the baddies are so tough. I think I’m close to the end but I’m going to have to back-track (and fight all the baddies again). I didn’t have much health items to enter and I used them up on the last two boss battles. I nearly died in the last battle (Siren Sisters) and I reckon that there’s a few more to go. So I need to get some health.
I’m not sure what I’ll play once I’ve finished PM. I’m in the middle of a few Advance and DS games but Anne doesn’t always have her DS lying around. I still need to finish Final Fantasy Crystal Chronicles but I reckon that’s a boss battle that you want to tackle when you have all day (plus, I’d need to spend a few hours getting the feel of the controls again). I think I stopped playing because I wanted to increase my strength but it got too frustrating (you had to complete entire levels and even then, you might get nothing).
*Looks at her games* I could try to completely complete Lego StarWars…maybe not…I could finish re-playing Tales of Symphonia but I think I’m on the first disc, which is at mum’s. We haven’t unlocked everything on Smash Brothers (got it free with my Wii so we haven’t played it that much). Hmmm…I haven’t played Eternal Darkness or Resident Evil 4 yet so maybe I’ll try one of those.
Actually this is good, I’ve come close to playing all our GC games (except the crap ones like The Sims). Now I need to catch up on the DS and Advance ones. Maybe it is just as well that there’s no good Wii games out apart from Zelda…

Leave a Reply

