Apple Crumble

I’d never order it at a restaurant (actually, I don’t order desserts anyway) but it is my favourite dessert to make at home. It’s cheap, yummy and easy to make. Apple crumble is very hard to stuff up. Sometimes I make it as an afternoon snack for uni – I’ll dish it up into little portions and zap it in the department microwave.
I got the recipe originally from one of mum’s cookbooks. Not sure which one…

4 serves unless you’re greedy 🙂
Takes about 45-50minutes to prepare and cook. But you can bugger off and do other thing for 30 minutes.

5 large apples (or equivalent)
1/4 cup sugar
1/4 cup hot water
3/4 cup self-raising flour
80g butter
1 teaspoon cinnamon
1 teaspoon allspice
1/2 cup brown sugar

Peel and core the apples and chop them into 8ths or 12ths, depending on the size of the apples. Pop them in a saucepan with the white sugar and water and cook, covered, on stove for ten minutes.
While that’s cooking, turn the oven onto somewhere around 150-180 degrees celcius. Now, grab a bowl and make the crumble. Mix the flour and spices together (incidentally, I stole my allspice from my mum and it apparently was use by 1997!) and then rub in the butter. Then mix in the brown sugar.
Once the apples are done, drain them and pop them in an ovenproof dish (I use a 1.4 litre dish but I think slightly bigger would be better). Put the crumble on top and chuck in the oven (uncovered) for 30 minutes. Then eat up. Good with ice cream or custard but I like to have it as is.

Leave a Reply

