food · recipes

Mexican Noodle Soup

This is a recipe that I got out of one of mum’s cookbooks. It has a nice rich flavour, with lime to give it an interesting tang.
The original recipe did have chicken in it but I think it’s better without. It also had tortillas instead of noodles but they go soggy and are a stupid idea (EDIT: I have since visited the US and had this soup. Now I know how the tortillas are meant to work. But I still like my noodles). So I make my own noodles, the way that my family traditionally make them for chicken noodle soup. I’ve only started to make noodles this year so my noodles leave much to be desired. That and I am very slow. I guess if you can’t be bothered then you can use packet dried pasta.
Serves about four with some good fresh bread.

1-3 green chillis
3/4 cup boiling water
vegetable oil
1 brown onion, chopped
3 cloves crushed garlic
~600g tomatoes, chopped roughly
2 litres chicken/vegetable stock
2 tbs lime juice
2 avocados, chopped
Noodles (see below) or store-bought pasta

Remove stems from the chillies and place in a bowl with the boiling water. Let it stand for at least 10 minutes (I leave it all day). Heat oil in pot and cook the onion and garlic until the onion is soft. Add tomatoes and chillies (plus the water it soaked in) and cook for about 10 minutes, stirring often. Let the mixture cool a bit and then process until pureed.
Return the puree to the heat and add the stock and juice. Simmer for about 15 minutes. Add the noodles and cook for 5 minutes (or the pasta for however long the packet tells you). Add the avocado and enjoy

Noodle
This took me over half an hour to make, because I’m a beginner and am slow. I do think making your own noodle is worth it but I grew up on these noodles so am biased to them. The measurements aren’t precise.

1/2-2/3 cup flour
Bit of salt
1 egg
1/4 tsp oil

I wish I learned how to do this before I moved out of home

Stir the ingredients together with a knife. Add water if needed. Knead the dough and then roll it out as thin as you possibly can. As in 1mm. The dough springs back so you really need to force it. Or invest in a pasta maker (meh).
Divide the noodle into strips (maybe about 5cm in width) and sprinkle it with flour so that the strips are really dry. You don’t want your noodle to stick together and form pasta chunks. So chop the noodle into thin strips. Hold the strip with your index and middle fingers and move them as you cut. The more practice, the faster it takes.

Leave a Reply

