Maids of Honour Cakes

Making yummy food seems to be a good stress-relief strategy for me. Which I guess is good since I’ll never go hungry while freaking out about things.

I’m not so good at making pretty food. But I can do yummy 🙂

My mum made this a few times when I was younger and I loved them. Now I can make them for myself and the people I share them with love them.
The recipe isn’t a quick and easy one. I think it takes about an hour to make. But worth it. It makes about 20 cupcakes but it depends on how thinly you roll the dough (I’m not so good at that yet).

1 cup plain flour
60g butter, softened
1/4 cup caster sugar
1 egg yolk
Some water
Some jam

For the cake mixture:
60g butter, softened
1 tsp vanilla essence
1/3 cup castor sugar
1 egg
3/4 cup self-raising flour
1/4 cup milk

Sift the plain flour into a bowl and rub in the butter. Stir in the sugar and egg yolk. Stir in enough water to make it all come together. Knead the dough until it’s nice and smooth and then cover and refrigerate for 30 minutes.

While you wait, lightly grease shallow patty pans. Then make the cake mixture by creaming the butter, essence and sugar with an electric mixture. Once the mixture lightens and the sugar in incorporated, add the egg and beat until combined. Mix in the floor and milk in batches.

Set the oven 10 about 180C. Roll out the dough on a clean floured surface to about 2mm thickness. Cut out the circles and put in patty pans. Save some of the dough for the crosses. Place a small amount of jam onto the dough cases and then top with cake mixture. Roll and cut the pastry scraps into strips and place on top of the cakes, forming crosses. Bake for about 15 minutes, depending on your oven (if you aren’t familiar with your oven then keep a close eye on the cakes).

Leave a Reply

