food · recipes

Cookie logs

I initially picked this recipe to use up my rice flour and because it didn’t require any eggs. They are actually quite nice and easy to make. The recipe is originally from Cupcakes, Cheesecakes, Cookies but I halve the amount (which makes plenty) and have been experimenting with variants like spirals and adding peanut butter.

My spiral skills need a bit of work XD

125g butter, softened
100g icing sugar
150g flour
37g rice flour
25g cornflour
1 tsp vanilla essence
M&M minis (or chocolate bits)

You are meant to sift the sugar and flours but it actually takes a lot of work (even wth a spoon) so I just sift the plain flour and ignore the rest.
Beat the butter, icing sugar, and vanilla essence until the butter is lighter in colour. Stir in the flours and M&Ms (as little or as many as you like), followed by the milk. Kneed until it all comes together and is nice and smooth and then roll it out into a long log. Wrap in cling wrap and stick it in the fridge for an hour (but 30mins is fine if you’re impatient).

The original plain recipe. Cut a bit too thick

Preheat the oven to ~150C and line some trays with baking paper. Remove the cling wrap and cut the log into slices. The cookies wont expand much so you can pack them onto the tray instead of spacing them out. Cook for about 12 minutes (my batches are done in my oven at that temp and are burnt after 14 minutes). They will not be hard when they are done (in fact, you need to be careful that they don’t crumble) – they should look uncooked on top and a little golden on the bottom. Transfer them to a rack and let them cool and harden.

I’ve made four batches and played around with the flavours. I replaced the milk with lemon butter (and ommitted the M&Ms) because I had jar of the stuff to use up. They were ok but I got a bit tired of them after a few days. I suspect that orange juice and poppy seeds would be better. I also tried replacing the milk with 2tbs peanut butter (I think I put in ~2tsp of milk), which was yummy.
I also had a go at making pinwheel cookies. Omit the M&Ms and divide the dough into two. Mix in enough cocoa powder to one until it’s a nice dark colour. Roll out the doughs and place one on top of the other and then roll into a log. I think my problem was that I should have refrigerated the dough before attempting to roll it out. It was difficult to roll out and I ended up just pushing the dough with my fingers. I thought it was a disaster but they looked alright in the end. And the people I shared them with really liked them.

Leave a Reply

