nintendo

Skyward Sword impressions

Picked up LoZ Skyward Sword on the weekend, with the golden Wiimote. If only there was a golden nunchuk to go with it.

So far I’ve past the first dungeon. Sadly for Zelda, I’m already addicted to Xenoblade Chronicles and would rather spend hours looking for lost children, collecting pink asparagus, and beating up a shitload of monsters so my characters like each other and I can have a heart-to-heart. I’m finding it really hard to motivate myself to do any art, despite having so many ideas.

The latest Zelda installment is certainly pretty. I quite like the new design for the heart container. And there is a little cute thing where you can get a pumpkin skewered on your sword. Those little details make me happy.
But on the whole, the game hasn’t made a great first impression. I am neutral to the new stamina meter but my favourite past-time was getting from A to B by rolling. That joy was stolen from me in the DS games and now it’s stolen from me for the Wii. I’ll have to make do with backflipping all over the place.

I’m finding the controls really hard. Flying isn’t so bad when trying to get somewhere but when you have to chase after some stupid bird, it’s bloody hard. Beating up Deku Babas should not be that hard either. But some of it is simply I lack the skills and hopefully I will get the hang of it soon. I quite like using the bug net and the item you get in the first dungeon.

The game does look like a lot of fun but I feel a little disappointed. I think it’s just a case of being such a big fan that I expect too much. Once I reconcile myself with the idea that no future LoZ game will ever be better than Ocarina of Time then I’ll be fine.

Leave a Reply

