Beef in Oyster Sauce

This was one of the first dishes that I mastered when I started cooking. I even made it the one time that I entertained quests at my home and it went down really well. This recipe (from the same cookbook as this yummy dish) is super easy and tastes wonderful. It also taught me the value of marinating with baking soda.

500g beef, sliced into long, thin strips
Oil
500g broccoli, cut into small pieces
1-2 carrots, cut into small pieces
2 tsp rice wine or dry sherry
1/2 tsp salt
1 tsp sugar
Spring onions, cut into small pieces
1 tsp crushed ginger
2-3 tbs oyster sauce
1 tbs water
1/2 tsp cornflour
Splash of sesame oil
Rice, to serve

Marinade
1/2 tsp baking soda
1 tsp sugar
1 tbs cornflour
1 tbs soy sauce
3 tbs water
2 tbs oil

Combine the beef and marinade into a bowl and marinate for at least 30 minutes in the fridge. I like to get this ready before I leave for work.

Briefly boil the carrot and steam the broccoli, only a few minutes. Then heat some oil in a frypan and stirfry the carrot and broccoli. Add the sherry/rice wine, salt, and sugar. Remove from the frypan. Heat some more oil and fry the beef, then remove. Add the remaining ingredients and veggies and stir until thickened and heated through. Sometimes I like to add baby corn as well. Serve with rice.

Leave a Reply

