Motivation

Base by Vayliya

I don’t know about other artists, but I find that I enter a creative slump after finishing a piece. Unless I have something already in the works, once I finish a project I have trouble working on something else. It isn’t that I’m lacking ideas, I hve a large list of ideas waiting for me. It’s more more of an motivation or inspiration thing, a trouble placing the first stroke. So does it count as true artist’s block?

Whatver it is, it’s so frustrating when I finally have time to devote to my art and it happens. This never happened when I was at high school and undergrad uni and had time (but I also worked on crap that I didn’t enjoy).

I think I’ve found a strategy to combat this block thing. For me, the answer is doll bases. Instead of trying to find the right base or pose to suit my idea, I develop an idea to suit the base. I will open all of the base files I have saved on my computer (and there are a lot of them). Then I go through the tedious process of quickly glancing at them one by one and deciding whether to close the file or add the base to a blank canvas. It takes a while but what else am I going to do? Probably spend the time doing nothing and feeling guilty for doing nothing.

By the end of that process, I am usually left with about five or more bases that resonated with me in the moment. I will then scribble any ideas I have on them. Voilà! A starting point.

Bases by Phrixian, MalevolentMask, OppsIArted, Halleaon, and Glume (I think?)

The chances of me finishing all these dolls is pretty slim but that doesn’t matter. The important thing is that at least one inspires me enough to continue. And that’s how I can go from a spoilt brat in pink to some weird blue woman on a cloud XD

DA background colour. I bet the cloud would look stupid against white.

And that’s one of the things that I like about dolls. Bases provide a great starting point and I love to use them to unmask my hidden ideas. Working on a blank canvas is great too but I find that I get so hung up on the technical side that I’m often not as creative.

Leave a Reply

