Portuguese Custard Tarts

The greatest thing that I learned last year was that you can freeze eggwhites. Now I can make custard treats without feeling bad that I’m wasting my eggs. And when I’ve accumulated enough eggwhites, I can make friands.

This is the second time that I’ve tried Portuguese custard tarts. I love custard and my work colleagues seemed to like them. 

Still can’t take good food photos

4 thawed puff pastry sheets (I used a 375g block of puff pastry, because that is what I had. But it’s hell to roll out so the sheets are probably better)
5 egg yolks and 1 whole egg (I was one egg short and the tarts turned out well)
125g caster sugar
50g cornflour
350ml cream
250ml milk
1 tsp vanilla extract

Whisk the eggs, sugar, and cornflour in a saucepan. Gradually stir in the cream, milk, and vanilla and then cook over a low heat. Keep stirring until the custard has thickened (this actually took me a while). Transfer to a bowl, cover the surface with cling wrap, and refrigerate. Wait about 30 minutes until the custard has cooled down.

Meanwhile, cut out pastry rounds and line a greased muffin pan. My round cutter wasn’t big enough so after I cut the rounds, I worked them in my hands to make them larger. It does mean they aren’t as neat but I personally don’t mind. I was able to make about 20. Refrigerate.

When ready, preheat the oven to 200C. Spoon the custard into the pastry cases and bake for about 30 minutes (depending on your oven. I’m still getting used to mine and should have baked them for longer). The custard does expand in the oven but will collapse when you let it cool. Let the tarts cool in the tray for several minutes before transferring to a wire rack.

Leave a Reply

