food

Zebra Cake

One of the few good things about my work are the people and the food. We love to sit together and share our baked treats. Or ice cream. I love my supervisor’s ice cream machine. I want one.

A birthday can’t go by without cake! This year my supervisor gave me the challenge of making her a fancy cake for her birthday. I decided to attempt a zebra cake. My piping skills are nonexistent so I figured that a zebra cake would be a more attainable goal than piped roses in a beautiful colourful gradient (which would get ruined on the train journey anyway). *Sigh* So pretty…

Making the cake was both easy and fun. I can’t believe how well it turned out with minimal skill. I should abuse food colouring more often.

Zebra2

Decorating the outside of the cake wasn’t so fun. My cakes tend to lack icing so I have no skill in icing a whole cake. My patience had died by the time I reached the fondant so they really don’t look like zebra stripes. Nevertheless, my colleagues were impressed with my cake. Or pretended to look impressed, which is just as good. 😛

Some shops sell beautiful cakes that disappoint when you bite into them so I was expecting that this recipe would deliver style over substance. But the cake was lovely. It was the buttercream icing that let the cake down – way too sweet! If I ever try this again then I’m going to use a cream cheese icing. Or perhaps a lemon icing?

One thought on “Zebra Cake

Leave a Reply

