sewing

Simplicity 1425

I’m 30 years old today. Happy birthday to me!

For months I’ve had a gorgeous designer sheer just waiting for me to find the right pattern. The collared peplum top by Simplicity was the closest match to what I had in mind. But I was a little hesitant because my first attempt at bust seams was a disaster and also, like everyone else, I wanted to use a zipper instead of buttons. I could see this also turning into a disaster. So instead of making the top I wanted, I grabbed some old crappy material from my first year as a sewer.

It all worked out pretty well! Adding a separating zip was a lot easier than I imagined. The top was too large so I did have to take it in. And the material wrinkles and collects lint way too easily so it isn’t as flattering as it could be.

This time I chose a smaller size and tried underlining for the first time. I actually started this a month ago but had trouble with the collar so I’ve been putting it off. I almost gave up on the collar but it was one of the reasons that I chose this pattern for the fabric. I’m glad that I didn’t give up on the collar, I just wish I could have attached the neckband better (at least the collar covers the neckband flaws).

1425front

The plan was to have the zip finish lower down and have a button at the neckband, like The Winter Queen did. Alas, one side is higher than the other! Stupid neckband. I’m not resewing it again. I tried wearing it around the house to see if I could get away with leaving it as is but it doesn’t look good. I guess I’ll have to attach the button lower down and hope no one takes a close look at it. Or go back to having long hair?1425back

Leave a Reply

