Too many cupcakes

Oops, forgot I was a blogger…

One thing I’ve been doing a lot of is making cupcakes. Last month I did a cupcake baking and decorating class at my favourite cupcake shop, Cupcake Central, along with my mum and sister. It was a lot of fun and I learned a lot from it, particularly how to use a piping bag.

cupcakeclass.png

vanillaI got the recipe book from the business (which is self-published so is expensive and has errors such as choc-orange cupcakes that lack orange) and have been making my way through the recipes. My first attempt was vanilla cupcakes, which overflowed, and buttercream icing, which wasn’t the ideal consistency for piping. My second attempt, black velvet, cracked but looked very pretty once smothered in cream cheese icing and topped with fondant butterflies (alas, I did not take a photo).

My third attempt, red velvet, are amazing! So soft and fluffy! It probably helped that my boyfriend got me a cheap oven thermometer so that my temperature was more precise. I know my oven was slow but I had no idea just how bad it was!

redvelvet

My work colleagues are certainly enjoying my cupcake adventures. 🙂

Leave a Reply

